Social Link Facebook
Social Link Facebook
RSS News Feed
RSS News Feed

Research - Palaentology

Research opportunities on fossils at the Eromanga Natural History Museum involves three sections:

  1. Fossils and ichnofossils from the late Cretaceous, the period that saw the last of the reign of the dinosaurs, a time when just before they became extinct they grew to titanic sizes never to be seen in the terrestrial animal kingdom again. A rare window into the behaviour of the dinosaurs and the Paleoecology of the late Cretaceous period in one of the newest friendly paleontological frontiers.
  2. Fossils from the Quaternary Pleistocene Arid Zone, the marsupial and reptilian megabeasts that evolved after the dinosaurs died. The megafauna lived alongside the Aboriginals for tens of thousands of years before becoming extinct. Descendants of these extinct species have evolved and still exist today.
  3. Fossils from the Quaternary Pleistocene, the microfauna evolution in the Australian Arid Zone.

Image supplied Rochelle Lawrence: Microfossil 1mm.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why do the Eromanga dinosaurs and the Eulo Diprotodon (Megafauna) have common names like Cooper, George, Sid, Zac and Kenny?

These are identifying names we give a new important dinosaur or megafauna discovery so we know which individual we are talking about. In many cases with the dinosaurs they will be scientifically described as completely new dinosaurs and then they are given a special scientific name.  If they are not a new species then they will already have a special scientific name.  ‘Kenny’ has a scientific name already, Diprotondon optatum.

Copyright © Eromanga Natural History Museum   |   Site Map   |   Site by Vanillacream
Eromanaga Natural History Museum Accredited Tourism Business Accredited Tourism Business